Know your rights: Our guide to Missouri concealed carry laws
Missouri concealed carry laws
Firearms ownership is a right for all Americans, written into the constitution by our founding fathers. Owning and carrying a firearm is as American as apple pie, but it’s important to know and understand concealed carry laws in your state.
One of our primary goals at Frontier Justice is educating our community about firearms, from laws surrounding their use to safety tips for new and experienced gun owners alike.
In this latest blog from our training experts, we go over what you need to know about Missouri concealed carry laws. If you have questions about concealed carry laws or firearms in your state, get in touch with us and we’ll happily provide the answers you need.
Everything you should know about Missouri concealed carry laws
According to Article 1, Section 23 of the Missouri State Constitution:
“That the right of every citizen to keep and bear arms, ammunition, and accessories typical to the normal function of such arms, in defense of his home, person, family and property, or when lawfully summoned in aid of the civil power, shall not be questioned. The rights guaranteed by this section shall be unalienable. Any restriction on these rights shall be subject to strict scrutiny and the state of Missouri shall be obligated to uphold these rights and shall under no circumstances decline to protect against their infringement. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the general assembly from enacting general laws which limit the rights of convicted violent felons or those adjudicated by a court to be a danger to self or others as result of a mental disorder or mental infirmity.”
Missouri law doesn’t require a permit to carry a firearm for any person at least 19 years of age, or 18-years-old and a member of the United States Armed Forces. Permits are issued for reciprocity by county sheriffs at the local level.
Missouri concealed carry laws recognize permits from every US state and territory, while 36 other states recognize Missouri’s permits.
Here’s a quick list of some other Missouri concealed carry law facts:
- Concealed firearms are allowed in vehicles
- Drivers are not legally required to notify officers of concealed weapons
- Open carry is permitted subject to city and county regulations
- Concealed carry is permitted in state parks
- Concealed carry is permitted in restaurants
While the state allows concealed carry, there are certain off-limits areas, including any law enforcement or corrections facility, government owned buildings, post offices, bars (unless you have owner consent), schools or colleges, churches (without minister consent), and hospitals. This list is not all inclusive. Visit here for a full list of areas prohibiting concealed carry in Missouri.
How do I get a CCW permit in Missouri?
Any Missouri resident over the age of 19 can apply for a concealed carry permit. Non-resident permits are only issued for members of the armed forces who are posted in the state.
The application requires completion of a safety and training course with a certificate of completion from a certified trainer. The applicant must also pay any fees applicable to the county and state.
Applicants must complete the application form and contact their county sheriff’s office to
schedule an appointment. On the day of their appointment, the applicant should bring their completed application with their training certificate, their state issued ID, and non-refundable payment to the sheriff in their county of residence.
Concealed carry classes
While every American has the right to carry, doing it effectively requires dedication and training. Frontier Justice’s CCW classes provide the required training and documentation to apply for your permit.
During this state mandated 8-hour class, we will go over basic pistol operation for both revolver and semi-automatic firearms, and touch on important topics like safe storage, holster use, firearm cleaning, and ammunition types and storage.
We will also address important laws, like Missouri’s use of force laws, protecting persons and property, and the Castle Doctrine. Additionally, we will go over how to interact with law enforcement after a self-defense incident, how to respond to an aggressor, situational awareness, and more.
Frontier Justice is proud to take care of all of your firearm needs
Whether it’s a guide to Missouri concealed carry laws, proper firearm training, high-quality firearm products, or a cute new look from our boutique, Frontier Justice proudly serves our customers in the Midwest.
Our founding philosophy of Faith, Family, and Freedom guides our business. We do everything we can to educate our community about their rights while providing top of the line firearms and fashion for the whole family.
Learn more about what makes Frontier Justice different by reaching out to us, signing up for our membership club, scheduling a class, or simply stopping by and checking out our store, boutique, and range for yourself!