Know your rights: Our guide to Nebraska concealed carry laws
Nebraska concealed carry laws
Firearms ownership is a right for all Americans, written into the constitution by our founding fathers. Owning and carrying a firearm is as American as apple pie, but it’s important to know and understand concealed carry laws in your state.
One of our primary goals at Frontier Justice is educating our community about firearms, from laws surrounding their use to safety tips for new and experienced gun owners alike.
In this latest blog from our training experts, we go over what you need to know about Nebraska concealed carry laws, as well as some concealed carry safety and fashion tips! If you have questions about concealed carry laws or firearms in your state, get in touch with us and we’ll happily provide the answers you need.
Everything you should know about Nebraska concealed carry laws
According to Article 1, Section 1 of the Nebraska State Constitution:
“All persons … have certain … rights, among these are … the right to keep and bear arms for security or defense of self, family, home, and others, and for lawful common defense, hunting, recreational use, and all other lawful purposes, and such rights shall not be denied or infringed by the state or any subdivision thereof.”
Nebraska is a “shall issue” state for concealed handgun permits. That means, as long as an applicant passes the basic requirements set out by state law, they are qualified for a permit. Permits are issued by the State Patrol Department. Permits are restricted to 21 year olds who have been residents of Nebraska for at least the last 180 days. Military personnel stationed in Nebraska are treated as residents.
A handgun certificate or concealed carry permit is required to purchase a handgun, even in private sales. The city of Omaha requires handgun registration, but concealed handgun permit holders are exempt.
Nebraska concealed carry laws recognize permits from 38 states if the permit holder is 21 years of age or older, while more 38 other states recognize permits from Nebraska.
Here’s a quick list of some other Nebraska concealed carry law facts:
- Loaded firearms can be carried in a vehicle without a permit or license as long as the firearm is visible
- Drivers must notify officers of concealed weapons
- Open carry is permitted
- Concealed carry is permitted in state parks
- Concealed carry is permitted in restaurants
- Concealed carry is permitted in establishments that sell alcohol*
*It is illegal to possess a firearm while intoxicated
How do I get a CHP permit in Nebraska?
Only residents of Nebraska 21 years of age or older can apply for a permit in the state. For applicants who do not have a driver’s license, a vision test is required.
The application requires completion of a safety and training course with a certificate of completion from a certified trainer.
Applicants must fill out the application form after downloading the application from the Nebraska State Patrol website. Each applicant must personally submit the application with their training certificate, proof of vision, proof of citizenship and proof of address to their nearest Nebraska State Patrol Headquarters.
While the state allows concealed handgun carry, there are certain off-limits areas. These areas include:
- Police, sheriff, or state patrol stations or offices
- Detention facilities, jails, and prisons
- Courtroom or buildings which contain a courtroom
- Polling places during any bona fide election
- Meeting of the Legislature or a Committee of the Legislature
- Professional or semi-professional athletic event
- Building, grounds, vehicle, or sponsored activity or athletic event of any public, private, denominational, or parochial elementary, vocational, or secondary school, a private post secondary career school, a community college, or a public or private college, junior college, or university
- Place of worship
- Hospital, emergency room, or trauma center
- Political rally or fundraiser
Visit here for a full list of prohibited areas under Nebraska’s concealed carry laws.
Concealed carry classes
While every American has the right to carry, doing it effectively requires dedication and training. Frontier Justice’s CHP classes provide residents with the required training and documentation to apply for their Nebraska concealed carry permit.
During these classes, we will go over basic pistol operation for both revolver and semi-automatic firearms, and we touch on important topics such as safe storage, holster use, firearm cleaning, and ammunition types and storage.
We will also address important laws, like Nebraska’s use of force laws, protecting persons and property, and the Castle Doctrine. Additionally, we will go over how to interact with law enforcement after a self-defense incident, how to respond to an aggressor, situational awareness, and more.
Concealed carry safety tips
Our top tip for newcomers to concealed carry is to go through training. Our classes, taught by certified instructors, are built to introduce students to concealed carry, all while fulfilling your safety training requirement for a concealed carry permit.
We also offer a range of classes, geared towards firearms newcomers and experts alike, so you can be confident while operating your firearm.
Some other do’s and don’ts for concealed carry include:
- Do try to carry often. The point of concealed carry is to have a convenient method for defending yourself or others.
- Don’t carry your firearm in prohibited places. These include federal and state owned buildings and hospitals. Check your specific state regulations for a complete list.
- Do practice your holster draw. For those new to firearm ownership or concealed carry, take the time to perfect your holster draw. In the event you need your firearm for self defense, the seconds it could take to effectively draw your weapon could mean life or death.
- Don’t draw your gun unnecessarily. Flashing or brandishing a firearm to scare or intimidate people is a crime. Knowing when it is appropriate to draw your firearm is important and can be learned in a variety of courses.
- Do refrain from adjusting or fingering your firearm. It’s a natural instinct for newcomers to concealed carry to make slight adjustments or taps on your firearm. The #1 rule of concealed carry is to keep it concealed. By drawing attention to your firearm, you’re doing yourself and others around you a disservice.
- Don’t carry while consuming alcohol. Possession of a firearm while intoxicated is federally illegal, and it’s just not smart. Avoid use of any dangerous weapons while under the influence of any substance.
- Do keep your permit on you while carrying. In case you are questioned about your firearm or you need to use it, it’s important to keep your permit on you while carrying.
- Don’t make it obvious you’re carrying. The whole point of a concealed weapon is to keep it concealed. Depending on your weapon of choice, you may have to make some adjustments to your daily outfit while carrying. Avoid printing, or creating a clear outline of your firearm underneath your clothing. There are also many options for carrying off body, like concealed carry purses and backpacks.
Fashion tips for concealed carry
Frontier Justice does more than supply the best firearms and firearm training in the Midwest. We have you covered on all the best fashion trends at our boutique, too. We offer a large variety of clothes for the entire family, and some of our most popular items are for concealed carry. You don’t have to sacrifice fashion for protection, either. Many of the options in our boutique aren’t too “gunny” and are still fantastic for concealing your firearm.
Layering is a great way to carry your firearm inconspicuously. Sweaters, longer tops, and cardigans are all stylish looks that also cover firearms concealed inside a waistband.
Our line of concealed carry purses also make for a convenient and stylish way to keep your firearm by your side. Carrying off your body takes a little more practice than just sticking your handgun in your waistband, however. It’s critical to always know where your purse, and your firearm, are at all times and ensure it’s always in your possession.
We also offer a large line of holsters that fit nearly every style, including garter belt holsters and vest holsters that aren’t carried around the waist. No matter what your style or concealed carry needs are, the FJ boutique has something for everyone!
Frontier Justice is proud to take care of all of your firearm needs
Whether it’s a guide to Nebraska concealed carry laws, proper firearm training, high-quality firearm products, or a cute new look from our boutique, Frontier Justice proudly serves our customers in the Midwest.
Our founding philosophy of Faith, Family, and Freedom guides our business. We do everything we can to educate our community about their rights while providing top of the line firearms and fashion for the whole family. We are citizens of the Midwest ourselves, so we are dedicated to ensuring the safety of our greater community.
Learn more about what makes Frontier Justice different by reaching out to us, signing up for our membership club, scheduling a class, or simply stopping by and checking out our store, boutique, and range for yourself!