Know your rights: Our guide to Kansas concealed carry laws
Kansas concealed carry laws
Firearms ownership is a right for all Americans, written into the constitution by our founding fathers. Owning and carrying a firearm is as American as apple pie, but it’s important to know and understand concealed carry laws in your state.
One of our primary goals at Frontier Justice is educating our community about firearms, from laws surrounding their use to safety tips for new and experienced gun owners alike.
In this latest blog from our training experts, we go over what you need to know about Kansas concealed carry laws. If you have questions about concealed carry laws or firearms in your state, get in touch with us and we’ll happily provide the answers you need.
Everything you should know about Kansas concealed carry laws
According to the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act, 75-7c03. License to carry
concealed handgun; issuance; form:
“(a) The attorney general shall issue licenses to carry concealed handguns to persons
who comply with the application and training requirements of this act and who are not
disqualified under the provisions of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto. Such licenses shall be valid throughout the state for a period of four years from the date of issuance. The availability of licenses to carry concealed handguns under this act shall not be construed to impose a general prohibition on the carrying of handguns without such license, whether carried openly or concealed, or loaded or unloaded.”
Kansas law doesn’t require a permit to carry a firearm for any person at least 21 years of age. Permits are still issued under Kansas law by the Attorney General for individuals over the age of 21, as well as provisional permits for individuals ages 18-20.
Kansas concealed carry laws recognize permits from every US state, while more than 35 other states recognize permits from Kansas.
Here’s a quick list of some other Kansas concealed carry law facts:
- Concealed firearms are allowed in vehicles
- Drivers are not legally obligated to notify officers of concealed weapons
- Open carry is permitted subject to city and county regulations
- Concealed carry is permitted in state parks
- Concealed carry is permitted in restaurants
- Concealed carry is permitted in establishments that sell alcohol*
*It is illegal to possess a firearm while intoxicated
How do I get a CCW permit in Kansas?
Only residents of Kansas with a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card can apply for a permit in the state. Applicants must also be a resident of the county where applying.
The application requires completion of an 8-hour safety and training course with a certificate of completion from a certified trainer. The applicant must also submit the required fees to the state and county sheriff’s office with the application.
Applicants must fill out the application form and attach a 2”x2” passport size color photograph. Each applicant must personally submit the application with their photo, training certificate, and fees.
Kansas law also states that the concealed carry of firearms may not be prohibited in any building unless notices are conspicuously posted in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the state Attorney General.
Kansas concealed carry laws prohibit the possession of a firearm on the grounds of or within specific state-owned or leased buildings or courthouses. Other public buildings, such as publicly owned medical care facilities, adult care homes, and community mental health centers are also authorized to restrict concealed carry on their premises.
Concealed carry classes
While every American has the right to carry, doing it effectively requires dedication and training. Frontier Justice’s CCW classes provide the required training and documentation to allow an individual to apply for their concealed carry permit.
During these classes, we will go over basic pistol operation for both revolver and semi-automatic firearms, and we will touch on important topics such as safe storage, holster use, firearm cleaning, and ammunition types and storage.
We also address important laws, like Kansas’s use of force laws, protecting persons and property, and the Castle Doctrine. Additionally, we will go over how to interact with law enforcement after a self-defense incident, how to respond to an aggressor, situational awareness, and more.
Frontier Justice is proud to take care of all of your firearm needs
Whether it’s a guide to Kansas concealed carry laws, proper firearm training, high-quality firearm products, or a cute new look from our boutique, Frontier Justice proudly serves our customers in the Midwest.
Our founding philosophy of Faith, Family, and Freedom guides our business. We do everything we can to educate our community about their rights while providing top of the line firearms and fashion for the whole family.
Learn more about what makes Frontier Justice different by reaching out to us, signing up for our membership club, scheduling a class, or simply stopping by and checking out our store, boutique, and range for yourself!